The Bennington County Choral Society is a mixed adult chorus of voices drawn from southern Vermont and nearby New York and Massachusetts communities. It aims to foster an environment in which chorus members coalesce as a group and develop as an ensemble, with the goal of growing musically through weekly rehearsals and biannual performances that are a source of pride and pleasure.

The Choral Society is open to all ages and singing/reading abilities and performs two concerts each year. Auditions are not required to join. Members are expected to bring a love of singing and are asked to pay the appropriate dues as outlined in our upcoming events page. 

BCCS Verdi BTON.jpg




As the Musical Director of the Bennington County Choral Society, Cailin Marcel Manson concurrently serves as director of the Germantown Institute for the Vocal Arts, artistic director and conductor of the Germantown Concert Chorus and the Germantown Choral Festival. In early 2019 Cailin stepped down from his position as Director of Music at Putney School and has been appointed Director of Choral Activities and Music Performance at Clark University in Worcester, Massachusetts.

The baritone and conductor is a Philadelphia native who has toured major concert venues throughout the United States, Europe and Asia with many organizations as a performer and master teacher. Manson studied vocal performance at Temple University, then opera performance and orchestral conducting at the Universität Mozarteum Salzburg. Manson has held positions as artistic director and conductor of the Montgomery County Youth Orchestra, music director of the Vorarlberger Musikfest, music director and conductor laureate of the Chamber Symphony of Atlantic City, chairman of vocal studies at the Hazleton Conservatory for the Performing Arts and as a member of the voice faculty of both the Napoli School of Music and Dance and the Performing Arts Institute of Wyoming Seminary. He is a member of the National Association of Negro Musicians and the Conductors Guild.


Michelle Marrocco - President

Janice Leslie - Vice President

Chris Richmond - Treasurer

Nancy Koziol - Recording Secretary

Haley Barbieri - Member

Michael Downs - Member

Tim Finney -- Member

Jana Lillie - Member

John VanVoorhis -- Member